Press Release:


Press Release:

Wednesday, 28 June, 2017

Port Blakely CEO will Serve in 2017–2018 Season as Chair-Elect Before Becoming Board Chair in the 2018–2019 Season Seven New Directors with Varied Backgrounds Also Join the Board

Rene Ancinas

Seattle, WA – The Seattle Symphony Board of Directors has elected René Ancinas, CEO of Port Blakely, as its next Board Chair. Ancinas will serve as Chair-Elect during the 2017–2018 season before becoming Chair in the 2018–2019 season. Ancinas succeeds Leslie Jackson Chihuly, who is stepping down at the end of the 2017–2018 season following nine years as Chair. A trained clarinetist, with degrees from Oberlin Conservatory and the San Francisco Conservatory, Ancinas completed the Executive MBA program at the University of Washington before moving into his leadership role at the family-owned forest products company.

The Board also elected seven new Directors including: Paula Boggs, Founder of Boggs Media and former Executive Vice President and General Counsel at Starbucks; Meredith J. Broderick, Sleep Disorders Medicine/Neurology Physician at Overlake Internal Medicine Associates; Isiaah Crawford, President of University of Puget Sound; Molly Gabel, Managing Director, Associate General Counsel, Alaska Airlines; Viren Kamdar, Managing Director at Cornerstone Advisors; Ronald Koo, Partner at Perkins Coie; James E. Schwab, former President and CEO of Interact for Health in Cincinnati, Ohio.

Two former Directors who are rejoining the Symphony Board are Douglas Jackson, General Counsel at Magnus Investments, LLC; and Stephen Kutz, Managing Director and Regional Director at Bessemer Trust.

see all press releases